HOME THE BOOK AUTHORS BUZZ SPEAKING INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES CONTACT
Your Leadership Legacy Home

Your Leadership Legacy Speaking Engagements

Robert M. Galford  
photos by pierre.com
 

Robert M. Galford and Regina Fazio Maruca, the authors of Your Leadership Legacy, are available for speaking engagements and workshops.

Sample Speaking Topics

1. What Will Your Leadership Legacy Be?

You might be your company’s biggest rainmaker or most brilliant strategist. But if you jumped ship or disappeared today, what would you leave behind? What would the people with whom you’ve worked do differently because they worked with you?

Robert Galford and Regina Maruca, the authors of Your Leadership Legacy, show that your impact on others is what becomes your leadership legacy. It has more to do with who you are as a person (your natural leadership style) than with your abilities or job title. Most people tend to fall into one of six leadership roles.

Galford, a managing partner of the Center for Executive Development and co-author of the bestseller The Trusted Advisor, and Maruca, a principal at the Center and a former senior editor at the Harvard Business Review, explain that although natural tendencies can be slightly influenced and accentuated, your goal should be to align your intended legacies as closely with your natural style as possible.

In this speech you will learn how to define your natural role with clarity so you can sort out the distinctions between your roles and titles, and identify where you get the greatest satisfaction and where your strengths lie. Ultimately, it gives you something to think about as you plan the kind of legacy you want to leave and become a better leader today.

2. Trusted Advisor, Trusted Leader. So What? Now What?

We all know that those working in senior levels in organizations have a high level of expertise and serve as leaders and mentors. Continuing on the path laid by The Trusted Advisor and The Trusted Leader, this speech challenges the assumption that doing “more of the same” is all that is left for high achievers.

Robert Galford and Regina Maruca, the authors of Your Leadership Legacy, believe that as individuals retain and deepen their skills, they go through a migration that moves them through the states of trusted advisor and trusted leader to the territory of building a legacy.

Galford, a managing partner of the Center for Executive Development and co-author of the bestseller The Trusted Advisor, and Maruca, a principal at the Center and a former senior editor at the Harvard Business Review, stress that you should not be what you’re remembered for your legacy; rather, your legacy should be what others take away on an enduring basis as a result of having worked with you. Your legacy is what makes you a better leader for the rest of your career.

You will learn that building this legacy requires development work in three crucial areas. First it begins by honing one’s craft and becoming a trusted advisor to others. The advisor then carries these tenets of trust into the next role – that of the trusted leader. Finally, leaders cultivate their legacies, making them better and more effective leaders today.

3. Leaving Your Legacy, Making Your Mark

Most executives think of legacy as something to worry about later in their careers, at the edge of retirement—if at all. But Robert Galford and Regina Maruca, the authors of Your Leadership Legacy, argue that thinking about your legacy now makes you a better, more effective leader today.

Galford, a managing partner of the Center for Executive Development and co-author of the bestseller The Trusted Advisor, and Maruca, a principal at the Center and a former senior editor at the Harvard Business Review, demonstrate the importance of legacy to leadership development and show why and how individuals should think about legacy on their way into a position as opposed to on their way out.

In the tradition of The Trusted Advisor and The Trusted Leader, the authors use this speech to explain a tool for leaders to create their own leadership legacy statement that will set the specs for the kind of impact they want to have. You will learn how it goes beyond describing the actions or symbols of which you’re are most proud and allows you focus more on the characteristics and values for which you would most like to be remembered.



 

 

   

Robert Galford

Book Robert Galford through:
Les Tuerk
BrightSight Group
609-924-3060

Robert Galford's speaking page at BrightSight Group.

Video interview with Robert Galford.

Representative engagements:

- Society for Human Resource Management
- American Public Power Association
- Executive Forum
- America Public Transportation Association
- New England Human Resource Association, keynote
- 92nd St. Y lecture series
- Brookings Center for Executive Education
- Treasury Executives Institute
- Building Owners and Managers Association

Regina Maruca

Book Regina Maruca through:
Andrea Harris
Minerva Solutions, Inc.
978-897-1616